Contact Us

Fill in the contact form opposite and we will get back to you shortly. Alternatively use the contact details listed below
02921 845852
wcrc@cardiff.ac.uk
Wales Cancer Research Centre,
Room 1TB2 31,
First Floor Main Building,
University Hospital of Wales,
Cardiff, CF14 4XN

Multidisciplinary Research Groups

Five multidisciplinary research groups (MDRGs) have been formed as part of the Wales Cancer Partnership to encourage cross discipline discussion and to facilitate research collaborations. The five groups focus individually on breast, colorectal, prostate, lung and brain cancer research and each group is chaired jointly by a clinician and a scientist.

The MDRGs are developing independently and, by addressing issues specific to the tumour type of interest, and harnessing the huge wealth of knowledge and expertise within the groups, they are exploring innovative methodologies and proposals to expedite research for ultimate patient benefit.

Membership includes, but is not limited to: surgeons, oncologists, pathologists, radiologists, physicians, scientists, research nurses and lay representatives. Representatives from the All Wales Medical Genetics Service and the Wales Cancer Bank are also part of the groups to advise and assist with formulating research ideas that include genetic analysis and bio-sample and/or data collection.

Involvement of such a wide range of research active disciplines is initiating new and exciting ideas for joint research proposals and a master template protocol has been developed to facilitate submission of these proposals to the Clinical Research Portfolio.

Groups meet regularly in UHW and are open to anyone who is interested in participating from across higher education institutions and the NHS across Wales.

If you are interested in joining a group, or multiple groups, please contact the relevant chairs:

Breast

Prof. Peter Barrett-Lee
Dr. Luke Piggott

Peter.Barrett-Lee@wales.nhs.uk
PiggottL@cardiff.ac.uk 

Colorectal

Prof. Dean Harris

Dean.A.Harris@wales.nhs.uk 

Lung

Dr. Paul Shaw
Dr. Andrew Hollins 

paul.shaw@wales.nhs.uk
HollinsAJ@cardiff.ac.uk 

Prostate

Prof. Howard Kynaston
Prof. Shareen Doak

kynastonh@cardiff.ac.uk / howard.kynaston@wales.nhs.uk
s.h.doak@swansea.ac.uk 

Brain

Dr. James Powell

Dr. Florian Siebzehnrubl

James.Powell2@wales.nhs.uk 

fas@cardiff.ac.uk 

 

MDRG MEETING DATES

Prostate – next date tbc

Colorectal – 29th November, 12 - 1pm, MPEC Lecture Room B, Princess of Wales Hospital

Breast – 21st November, 2 - 4pm, CUBRIC Seminar room 1a - 1b

Lung –  16 November, 2:15 - 4:15pm Radiotherapy training room, Velindre Cancer Centre

Brain - 6th February 2-4pm in the Main Hospital Seminar Room A, UHW, Cardiff.